Sitemap   I   E-Mail   I   Contact   I   Disclaimer  
Startsite > International > BFR  
Baltic Sea Region



Baltic Sea Region
 

EU-funding project "Baltic Fort Route" 2005 - 2007


Project development and project management
by GKU Standortentwicklung GmbH
for transnational cooperation in
Baltic Sea region




Gdansk (PL),
Fortress Weichselmünde

Historical fortresses belong to the European cultural heritage. They were used over many centuries to protect settlements and landscapes. In the end of the 19th century this highly developed military architecture found an end when the weapon technology was superior by the architecture.

Today exist huge challenges in the terms of preservation, renovation and a contemporary use of fortress monuments especially in Central and Eastern Europe. In the cold war area the barracks were badly damaged, at the same time other objects in Western Europe were already demilitarized.

The old town-fortress Küstrin (today called Kostrzyn nad Odra/Poland) was 1945 almost completely destroyed and today you can visit in this reminding condition. Largely renovated fortresses like citadel Berlin-Spandau (D) and the fortress Dömitz (D) offer an extensive program for tourists. Fortresses like Gdansk (PL), Königsberg (RU) and Kaunus (LT) still need lots of support to reach these level.

Kostrzyn
Fortress days Kostrzyn (PL)
Foto: Tomasz Kulik
Swinoujscie
Swinoujscie (PL)
Foto: A. Jackowski
zitadelle
Citadel Spandau, Berlin (DE)
Foto: E. Rieger
Kaunas
Fortress Kaunas (LT)

Together with fortress experts GKU Standortentwicklung GmbH initiates the European funded project “Baltic Culture and Tourism Route Fortresses”. A complex transnational cooperation for conservation, renovation, use of fortresses corresponding to monument preservation, development of infrastructure as well as the management organisation was started.

According to GKU concept worldwide 14 fortresses and 6 universities/ institutes from 4 countries develop a standardized Transnational Information System -TIS- for fortresses. Additionally 3 competence and consulting centers for documentation, renovation technology and nature management in fortresses were established. Pilot and demonstration projects as well as practical courses for students in specialised fields will be realised. There is a high demand for knowledge and experiences worldwide.


Kick-off-meeting-Slubice 2005

Kolobrzeg, Fortress Kolberg
gdansk
Gdansk,
Fortress Weichselmünde


Main goal is the development of a transnational tourism route in the Baltic Region named as “Baltic Fort Route” (BFR), to present the cultural heritage to an international broad audience. The fortresses shall be networked on an european level and the fortress management shall be promoted through the tourism.

4 pilot tours were developed, on which tourists can travel from Kostrzyn along the Baltic fortress route. Thats a first model for organised fortress tourism with requirements in culture, entertainment and information. Information for sample travels you can find here.

The coordinators Hartmut Röder (chief coordinator) and Dr. Hans-Rudolf Neumann (scientific coordinator) would like to inform you personally per telephone, fax or E-Mail. For further information have look at www.bfr.pl as well as in our publications about the project. We are always grateful for suggestions and hints.

A geographical map with all the fortress members you will find here:
(it needs Google Earth)
Fortresses of Baltic Fort Route (BFR)


Members in BFR:
Germany
Fortress Dömitz
Citadel Spandau
Fort Hahneberg
Fortress Peitz
Fort Gorgast
Poland
Fortress Kostrzyn
Fortresses Kolobrzeg
Fort Hagelsberg, Gdansk
Fortress Weichselmünde,
Gdansk
Fortress Modlin
Fortress Boyen
Fortresses Swinemünde
Lithuania
Fortresses Kaunas

Russia
Festung Königsberg


Universities:
Europe University Viadrina,
Frankfurt / Oder
Humboldt-University Berlin
Immanuel Kant
University Kaliningrad
Vitautas Magnus
University Kaunas
Technical University Kaunas


Contact:

Lead Partner:

Town Kostrzyn nad Odra
A. Zurawska-Tatala
zurawska@kostrzyn.um.gov.pl
Tel.: +48-95 / 7278 124

Coordinators:

Hartmut Röder
buero-berlin@gku-se.de
Tel.: +49-30 / 92 37 21-0


Dr. Hans-Rudolf Neumann
hrv.neumann@t-online.de
Tel.: +49-30 / 314 723 88

Project website:

www.bfr.pl


EVENTS / HIGHLIGHTS


Start EU-Projekt "Baltic Culture and Tourism Route Fortresses"
Fortress days Kostrzyn 01.-02.09.07
Final Conference October 2007
Initiativ conference "Historical Fortress munuments" in Europa, Slubice 2008

INFORMATION MATERIALs

  Information-Folder
EU-Projekt BFR (eng.)
PDF 1,8 MB

Information-Folder
Fortress tourism (de)
PDF 1 MB

Model fortress travel routes

PDF 228 KB

 
Additional publications youll find here>>> Baltic Sea Region

Sitemap   I   E-Mail   I   Kontakt   I   Impressum  
Startseite > International > BFR  
Baltic Sea Region



Baltic Sea Region
 

EU-Förderprojekt "Baltic Fort Route" 2005 bis 2007


Projektentwicklung und Projektmanagement
der GKU Standortentwicklung GmbH
zur transnationalen Kooperation im Ostseeraum



Danzig,
Festung Weichselmünde
Historische Festungen gehören zum europäischen Kulturerbe. Sie dienten über viele Jahrhunderte dem Schutz von Siedlungen und Landschaften. Erst Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts erlebte diese hochentwickelte Militärbaukunst ihr letztes Kapitel, bis die Waffentechnik der Architektur überlegen wurde.

Heute bestehen vor allem in Mittel- und Osteuropa große Herausforderungen zur Erhaltung, Sanierung und zeitgemäßen Nutzung von Festungsmonumenten. Im Kalten Krieg waren sie als Stationierungsorte schwer beschädigt worden, während diese Objekte in Westeuropa längst entmilitarisiert waren.


Die Altstadt-Festung Küstrin (heute Kostrzyn nad Odra/Polen) wurde 1945 nahezu komplett zerstört und ist bis heute in diesem mahnenden Zustand zu besichtigen. Weitgehend sanierte Festungen wie die Zitadelle Berlin-Spandau (D) und die Festung Dömitz (D) bieten dagegen ein reichhaltiges Besuchsprogramm für Touristen. Festungen wie Danzig (PL), Königsberg (RU) und Kaunas (LT) benötigen noch viel Unterstützung um diesen Status zu erreichen.

Kostrzyn
Kostrzyner Festungstage
Foto: Tomasz Kulik
Swinoujscie
Swinoujscie
Foto: A. Jackowski
zitadelle
Zitadelle Spandau, Burgspiele
Foto: E. Rieger
Kaunas
Festung Kaunas
Mit dem EU-Förderprojekt „Baltic Culture and Tourism Route Fortresses“ initiierte die GKU Standortentwicklung GmbH, gemeinsam mit Festungsexperten, eine komplexe transnationale Zusammenarbeit zur Erhaltung, Sanierung, denkmalgerechten Nutzung von Festungen, zur Herstellung von Infrastruktur sowie zum Aufbau von Managementorganisationen.

Nach dem Konzept der GKU bauen weltweit erstmals 14 Festungen und 6 Universitäten/ Institute aus 4 Ländern ein einheitliches Transnationales Informations System -TIS- für Festungen auf. Es wurden 3 Kompetenz- und Konsultationszentren für Dokumentation, Sanierungstechnologien und für Naturmanagement in Festungen eingerichtet. Pilot- und Demonstrationsprojekte sowie Praktikumskurse für Studenten in speziellen Fach-richtungen werden durchgeführt. Der Bedarf nach Wissen und Erfahrungen ist weltweit groß.


Kick-off-meeting-Slubice 2005

Kolobrzeg, Festung Kolberg
gdansk
Danzig,
Festung Weichselmünde


Hauptziel ist jedoch die Entwicklung einer transnationalen Tourismusroute im Ostseeraum, bezeichnet als „Baltic Fort Route“ -BFR-, um das historische Erbe einem breiten, internationalen Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Die Festungen sollen europäisch vernetzt und die Festungsbewirtschaftung durch den Tourismus befördert werden.

4 Pilot-Touren wurden entwickelt, auf denen Touristen von Küstrin (Kostrzyn nad Odra/PL) aus per Reisebus entlang der Baltischen Festungsroute reisen können. Der organisierte Festungstourismus mit Anspruch an Kultur, Unterhaltung und Information bekommt ein Modell. Informationen zu den Musterreisen finden Sie hier.

Gern beraten Sie die Koordinatoren Hartmut Röder (Chefkoordinator) und Dr. Hans-Rudolf Neumann (Wissenschaftskoordinator) auch persönlich per Telefon, Fax oder mail. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.bfr.pl (englisch), in den Foldern (Seitenende) sowie in unseren Publikationen zum Projekt. Für Anregungen und Hinweise sind wir dankbar.

Eine standörtliche Übersicht der Mitgliedsfestungen finden Sie hier
(benötigt Google Earth):
Festungen Baltic Fort Route (BFR)


Mitgliedsfestungen in BFR:
Deutschland
Festung Dömitz
Zitadelle Spandau
Fort Hahneberg
Festung Peitz
Fort Gorgast
Polen
Festung Küstrin
Festungen Kolberg
Fort Hagelsberg, Danzig
Festung Weichselmünde,
Danzig
Festung Modlin
Feste Boyen
Festungen Swinemünde
Litauen
Festungen Kaunas

Russland
Festung Königsberg


Universitäten:
Europa Universität Viadrina,
Frankfurt / Oder
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Immanuel Kant
Universität Kaliningrad
Vitautas Magnus
Universität Kaunas
Technische Universität Kaunas


Kontakt:

Lead Partner:

Stadt Kostrzyn nad Odra
A. Zurawska-Tatala
zurawska@kostrzyn.um.gov.pl
Tel.: +48-95 / 7278 124

Koordinatoren:

Hartmut Röder
buero-berlin@gku-se.de
Tel.: +49-30 / 92 37 21-0


Dr. Hans-Rudolf Neumann
hrv.neumann@t-online.de
Tel.: +49-30 / 314 723 88

Projekthomepage:

www.bfr.pl


VERANSTALTUNGEN / HIGHLIGHTS


Start EU-Projekt "Baltic Culture and Tourism Route Fortresses"
Küstriner Festungstage 01.-02.09.07
Final Conference Oktober 2007
Initiativkonferenz "Historische Festungsdenkmale" in Europa, Slubice 2008

INFORMATIONSMATERIALIEN

  Informations-Folder
EU-Projekt BFR (eng.)
PDF 1,8 MB

Informations-Folder
Festungstourismus
PDF 1 MB

Modell Festungsreiserouten

PDF 228 KB

 
Weitere Veröffentlichungen finden Sie hier >>> Baltic Sea Region